Why Bayern Munich will wear a fifth star on their shirt

In line with Deutsche Fußball Liga’s (DFL) matchwear guidelines, commemorative stars are awarded to Bundesliga-winning clubs as follows:

  • Upon a third title: one star
  • Upon a fifth title: two stars
  • Upon a 10th title: three stars
  • Upon a 20th title: four stars
  • Upon a 30th title: five stars

Bayern won their 30th German league title in 2019/20, but it was their 29th since the Bundesliga’s inaugural season in 1963/64. They landed their 30th of the Bundesliga era – and record-extending ninth in a row – in 2020/21, which is why they are only receiving their fifth star now.

“The fifth star on our home jerseys is the reward for 30 league titles since the founding of the Bundesliga in 1963,” said Bayern CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge. “This has been earned by many generations of players, and is proof of FC Bayern’s decades of consistency at the highest level – FC Bayern fans can be proud of that.”

Other than Bayern, Borussia DortmundBorussia Mönchengladbach (both five titles), Werder Bremen (four), VfB Stuttgart and Hamburg (both three) all have the requisite number of stars on their jerseys. The Borussias have two; Bremen, Stuttgart and Hamburg have one. The shirts of one-time Bundesliga winners Cologne and Kaiserslautern are star-less.

Bayern will unveil their new home threads, complete with fifth star, in July. According to DFL statutes, the width and height of the symbol must be between 20 and 22 millimeters.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.