There will be no Ballon d’Or in 2020

France Football have confirmed there will be no Ballon d’Or awarded in 2020 as “all the conditions are not met” to host the ceremony and the impact the coronavirus pandemic has had on the season. The award was first held in 1956 with Stanley Matthews being the first player to win the prestigious award.

Each year since it’s introduction, the world’s best player has been awarded the trophy to signify their achievements in a single calendar year.

But there will be no award ceremony this year, meaning 2019 winner Lionel Messi will hold on to his title for another 12 months.

France Football’s editor-in-chief, Pascal Ferre, explained the decision behind cancelling this year’s award.

“For the first time since 1956, the Ballon d’Or will take a break. There will be no edition in 2020, because it turns out, after thoughtful consideration, that all the conditions are not met. We believe that such a singular year cannot -and should not- be treated as an ordinary one.

Ballon d'Or 2020 cancelled due to coronavirus pandemic disrupting season
There will be no Ballon d’Or in 2020

“From a sports perspective, two months (January and February), out of the eleven generally required to form an opinion and decide who should lift the trophies, represent far too little to gauge and judge ; without forgetting that the other games were played – or will be played – in unordinary conditions (behind closed doors, with five replacements, Champions League’s Final 8 played in a single game).

“Finally, the equity that prevails for this honorary title will not be warranted, especially when it comes to accounting and preparation : all the award seekers will not be in the same boat, some having seen their season cut short. Therefore, how can we establish a fair comparison? To avoid overly convoluted calculations and projections, we chose the least bad of the options.

“This decision, which was taken of course with all the Group stakeholders, does not delight us but it seems to be the most responsible one. Protecting the credibility and legitimacy of such an award also means ensuring its flawlessness over time.

“The Ballon d’Or will gather again the football big family and enthusiasts in 2021, to relive the happiness that surrounds the ceremonies as we have experienced them in recent years.”

Instead of the four usual winners in different categories, France Football will instead choose a dream team at the end of the year.

The statement added: “Instead of the four usual winners (men and women BO, Kopa and Yachine Trophies), France Football will designate 11 players at the end of the year and establish an all-time team chosen by the usual BO jury (180 juries from all over the world).

“The idea? Each jury will choose 11 players from a list of names established by FF redaction to build their Dream Team.

“This team of legend will be unveiled on L’Équipe and France Football various channels.”

Ballon d’Or Feminin was also introduced to the award ceremony for the best women footballer in 2018 with Megan Rapinoe winning last year ahead of England’s Lucy Bronze.

As well as the two Ballon d’Or awards, the organisation also gives awards for the best young player and best goalkeeper.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.