Manchester City’s 2020/21 title win by numbers

Manchester City have been crowned Premier League champions for a fifth time in 10 seasons.

We look at the Premier League records they have set or matched in 2020/21.

Level with Chelsea

A fifth Premier League title moves Man City into joint-second with Chelsea, with both sides still some way behind the 13 of Manchester United.

Lowest team at Christmas to win the league

Man City are the first team in Premier League history to claim the title after being as low as eighth on Christmas Day.

Only two teams in the competition’s history have been at least eight points behind the leaders at this stage and won the league: Arsenal in 1997/98 (13 pts), and Man Utd in 1995/96 (10).

Unbeaten run

Man City enjoyed a 15-match winning run in the Premier League, ended by a 2-0 home defeat by Man Utd in March.

This winning streak has only been bettered on three occasions in the Premier League, with Liverpool and Man City both on 18, while the Reds also won 17 in a row in 2019.

Guadiola joins elite managerial club

Pep Guardiola is only the fourth manager to win three Premier League titles, along with Sir Alex Ferguson (13), Arsene Wenger and Jose Mourinho (three each).

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.