Lakers end 10-year wait for title with blow-out win over Heat

The Los Angeles Lakers reign supreme once again.

LeBron James recorded 28 points, 14 boards, and 10 assists as the Lakers demolished the Miami Heat 106-93 in Game 6 to secure a record-tying 17th NBA title.

It’s the franchise’s first Larry O’Brien Trophy win since the late Kobe Bryant and Pau Gasol led Los Angeles to a second straight championship a decade ago.

The Lakers seized control of the matchup from the opening tipoff, pushing the tempo on a weary-looking Heat squad while outscoring them 10-0 on the fast break during the first quarter.

James was the catalyst of the Lakers’ offensive attack, ending the opening frame with nine points, five boards, and three assists as Los Angeles took a 28-20 lead into the second quarter.

Miami couldn’t claw back into the contest, and Los Angeles continued its barrage, with 15 first-half points from Kentavious Caldwell-Pope and 13 from veteran guard Rajon Rondo. The Lakers outscored the Heat 36-16 in the second quarter, and their 28-point halftime lead was the second-largest in NBA Finals history.

Bam Adebayo led Miami with 25 points, 10 boards, five assists, and two blocks in a losing cause. Meanwhile, Jimmy Butler was unable to replicate his heroics from a few nights ago, finishing with 12 points, eight assists, and seven boards.

Veteran guard Goran Dragic made a surprise return in Game 6 after missing the previous four contests due to a torn plantar fascia. He registered five points and five boards in 19 minutes off the bench.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.