Euro 2020 is completed: Groups filled after final playoffs

Euro 2020 is complete: Groups filled after final playoffs

We finally know the 24 teams who will be competing at the European Championship next summer. The tournament, which was postponed by a year because of the coronavirus pandemic, is set to take place in 12 host nations in June and July. The final four spots were decided with the play-off ties on Thursday night, with Hungary, Slovakia, Scotland and North Macedonia booking their places.

With the group stage draw already made, Hungary go into Group F with France, Portugal and Germany; Slovakia go into Group E with Spain, Sweden and Poland; Scotland go into Group D with England, Croatia and Czech Republic, while North Macedonia – in their first major tournament – go into Group C with the Netherlands, Ukraine and Austria.

Hungary and Scotland will both play some of their games at home, with Budapest and Glasgow part of the list of host cities, which also includes London, Bilbao, Munich, Baku, Rome, Copenhagen, Dublin, Amsterdam, Bucharest and St Petersburg.

Will there be fans?

“We can’t allow a European Championship to be played in empty stadiums,” said UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin in March. The COVID-19 pandemic is proving unpredictable though and whether fans are allowed into the stadiums or not next summer will be determined by the evolution of the continental health situation. “We’re always concerned by the situation, but we’re absolutely sure that the European Championship will be held in 2021,” Ceferin told Movistar recently. “But I also have to say that we could have a Euro in 11, five or one host country instead of 12.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.